Click image above to zoom

Concerto in G Major (Parts Only)-OB/ORCH

Composer: Pla, Juan Bautista

Publisher: Schott (Germany)

Edition: 115-70


Concerto in G Major
for oboe and orchestra
by Juan Bautista Pla (1720-1773)- Spanish composer and oboist
I. Allegro spiritoso
II. Adagio
III. Allegretto
Edited by Walter Lebermann.

The present concerto for oboe and string orchestra in G major first appeared under the name of Giovanni Platti. According to new research by the present editor, however, it can be attributed to the Catalan composer Juan Bautista Pla, who lived in the middle of the 19th Century. Pla worked as an oboist at the Portugese Royal Court and was a member of the Wurttemberg court orchestra under Niccolo Jomelli in Stuttgart from 1755-1766. Six sonatas for two oboes by Pla have also survived. 

This title comes with a full set of string parts (5-5-3-5). It does not include the score, and it does not include the solo oboe part. The parts are printed with the composer as Giovanni Platti, but this is incorrect. It is indeed a work by Juan Bautista Pla. 

The score may be found at the following link:

The solo oboe part must be purchased with the piano reduction