Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Five Speeds Forward (Score & Parts)-FL/OB/VLA/BSN

Composer: Etler, Alvin

Publisher: Prairie Dawg Press (Bruce Gbur)

Edition: 288


Five Speeds Forward for flute, oboe, viola, and bassoon

by Alvin Etler (1913-1973)

Five Speeds Forward was premiered at a Yaddo Festival Concert in Saratga on September 8th, 1940, performed by David Van Vactor, flute; Alvin Etler, oboe; Louise Rood, viola; and Joseph Rienes, bassoon. Virgil Thompson's review of a different performance called the work, "graceful in both writing and execution. The combination is a charming one that lends itself to all sorts of variety in musical texture. The second of the "Speeds" was a richly flowing slow movement of great breadth and loveliness".