Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Woodwind Quintet (Score & Parts)-WW5

Composer: Reynolds, Verne

Publisher: Prairie Dawg Press (Bruce Gbur)

Edition: 116


Woodwind Quintet 

by Verne Reynolds (b. 1926)

I. Lento
II. Adagio
III. Vivace
IV. Allegro sciolto


The Woodwind Quintet was composed in 1964 during Reynolds' fifth year at the Eastman School of Music. The work is cast in a traditional four-movement structure, the third of which is in ternary form. The final movement shows an interest in jazz rhythms, particularly syncopation. The overall harmonic language of this piece is fairly conservative, as befits its early date of composition, and is more tonally-oriented than Reynolds' later compositions. Edited by Bruce Gbur.