TrevCo-Varner Music will be closed from April 19th through April 23rd. All orders received during that time will be processed on Monday, April 23rd. Thank you for your patience-- Eric Varner

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concertpiece Op 80-BSN/PN

Composer: Cools, Eugene

Publisher: Prairie Dawg Press (Bruce Gbur)

Edition: 57


Concertstuck Op 80 for bassoon and piano

by Eugene Cools (1877-1936)

Edited by Bruce Gbur. The Concertstuck is atypical of the Paris Conservatory contest pieces in that it does not follow the standard structure for many of those compositions. Normally they start with a slow bel canto section, followed by a cadenza which leads into the main body of the work, often cast as a sonata form or rondo. This work, however, begins with a tempo of Allegro moderato and basically retains that speed for the entire work and there is no cadenza or a free a piacere passage.