Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger


Composer: Zaninelli, Luigi

Publisher: Prairie Dawg Press (Bruce Gbur)

Edition: 22


for bassoon and piano
by Luigi Zaninelli (b. 1932)- Italian-American composer
I. Ben marcato
II. Aria
III. Con brio!

Commissioned by John Bivins, this work is cast in three movements and exploits the full rnage of the bassoon as well as its technical abilities. It is unique in the bassoon repertoire for the extended solo passage in the A section of the first movement. The second movement is reminiscent of a folksong, charming in its melodic simplicity. THe finale explodes in a flurry of triplet figures, challenging the dexterity of the soloist.