Check out our "Works by Female Composers" section, under "catalog" and "browse collections"

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Contretemps (Score & Parts)-WW4

Composer: Grey, Geoffrey

Publisher: Nova (England)

Edition: 257


for flute, oboe, clarinet, and bassoon
by Geoffrey Grey (b. 1934)- British composer


This is really a concertante for four solo instruments, who each double as part of a miniature orchestral tutti when they are not engaged in a solo passage. Each player has a short cadenza. The jazz-like elements in particular should be played in their appropriate style. A single styled approach to the piece would rob it of its argument, as the juxtaposition of the various classical, swing, pop, and dramatic material is the mainspring of the work.