Wishing you all the best for 2023!

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Three Bagatelles (Score & Parts)-4BSN/HPSCHD

Composer: Norris, Michael

Publisher: Hop Vine Music (England)

Edition: HV110


Three Bagatelles
for four bassoons and harpsichord
by Michael Norris (b. 1934)- British composer and bassoonist


  1. Bagatelle I, half=76
  2. Bagatelle II, quarter=60
  3. Bagatelle III, quarter =116

This is an excellent companion piece to "Le Phenix" by MIchel Corrette.

Bagatelle I is in a free sonata form. The development section treats the first and second subjects contrapuntally, together with the inversion of the well known bassoon solo from Beethoven's Fourth Symphony. In the recapitulation section, the second subject appears as a fugato. The coda is based on the inverted Beethoven theme. 

Bagatelle II is in ternary form. In the original 1979 version, the entire bassoon parts III and IV were an inverted retrograde of the bassoon parts I and II. In this later version, the bassoon sounds have been reduced to allow the harpsichord to be heard more clearly as the main interest. The bassoons mostly retain their double inverted-mirror structure from A to D. 

Bagatelle III is in rondo form. The middle secton (D to F) is based on the inverted rondo theme. 

Duration: 9:00