Check out our "Female Composers" & "Composers of Color" collections, located under "catalog", "browse", "special collections"

Click image above to zoom

Prelude & Quodlibet (score & parts)-OB/EH

Composer: Running, Arne

Publisher: Weber Reeds Inc (Distributor)

Edition: 64846


Prelude & Quodlibet
for oboe and English horn
by Arne Running (1943-2016)- American composer and clarinet player

The Prelude movement savors the lyrical and expressive capabilities of the two solo instruments. Beginning with tender simplicity, the music gradually leads to an impassioned climax before closing with a brief reprise of the opening material. The Quodlibet is a madcap march. Over twenty well-known oboe and English horn orchestral excerpts are humorously quoted, and each instrument gets plenty of chances to shine. Audiences laugh out loud - a welcome sound in concert halls!