Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto in F Major, F7 #18, RV458 - OB/PN

Composer: Vivaldi, Antonio

Publisher: Musica Rara (Germany)

Edition: 2295


Concerto in F Major, F7 #18, RV458
for oboe and piano
by Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741) - Italian composer and violin virtuoso
I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Adagio
IV. Allegro
  • Fanna: VII #18 
  • Ryom: RV458 
This edition for oboe and piano is by Fulvio Caldini and edited by Sandro Caldini. It is difficult to determine exactly how many oboe concertos Antonio Vivaldi wrote. Just as with the C Major Concerto RV 446, Vivaldi's authorship of the F major Concerto RV 458 is also contested. The doubts cannot even be dispelled by the existence of two sources from a large collection in Lund, Sweden. The Adagio central movement deserves our particular attention, as it was transmitted in different versions in the two sources. In this first edition for oboe and piano, the non-ornamented version is given first and followed by the version supplied by editor Sandro Caldini with ornaments typical of Vivaldi's time, which make this version of the Adagio particularly interesting for performers.