Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sonata in g minor, RV28 - OB/PN (Basso continuo)

Composer: Vivaldi, Antonio

Publisher: Musica Rara (Germany)

Edition: 22894


Sonata in g minor, RV28
for oboe and piano (basso continuo)
by Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741) - Italian composer and violin virtuoso
I. Adagio
II. Vivace
III. Largo
IV. Allegro

Edited by Sandro Caldini. Basso Continuo realization by Fulvio Caldini. This edition comes with one solo oboe part, a realized keyboard continuo part, as well as an individual basso part, playable on any bass clef instrument such as bassoon or cello. 

The manuscript of the g minor Sonata attributed to Vivaldi is located in the music collection of the Dresden violin virtuoso Johann Georg Pisendel. Since there is no indication of the solo instrument, it has generally been assumed that Pisendel used it for his own musical practice. When considering the writing style and register, however, the work seems less suited to the violin than to the oboe.