Click image above to zoom

Quartet #8 Op 110 (Score & Parts)-WW5

Composer: Shostakovich, Dmitri

Publisher: Musica Rara (Germany)

Edition: 2229


Quartet #8 Op 110
for woodwind quintet- flute doubles piccolo, oboe double English horn
by Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)- Russian/Soviet composer
I. Largo
II. Allegro molto
III. Allegretto
IV. Largo
Originally for string quartet, this work has been arranged for woodwind quintet by Mark Popkin. This work has been recognized as the composer's most personal composition, written in three days during a visit to the city of Dresden in 1960. The personal element is exemplified by the work's leitmotif DSCH, from the composer's own name.