Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Suite in g minor - OB/PN (Basso Continuo)

Composer: Saint-Luc, Jacques Alexandre de

Publisher: Musica Rara (Germany)

Edition: 2141


Suite in g minor
for oboe (or flute or recorder) and piano (basso continuo)
by Jacques Alexandre de Saint Luc (1616-1708) - Flemish lutenist and composer
I. Ouverture
II. Courante
III. Sarabande
IV. Gigue
V. La Reyne de Prusse, Sarabande
Edited by Daniel Fournier

In 1707-1708, Etienne Roger in Amsterdam published his Suites a un dessus et une basse, propres a jouer sur le violin, la flute et le hautbois and his Pieces de luth avec un dessus et basse ad libitum. Only the treble voice of these printings has been found, and the present edition was prepared from the manuscript sources. As in most of the instrumental music of this period, the instrumentation is flexible. The treble part may be performed by oboe, violin, transverse flute, recorder, treble-viol, or even trumpet in some cases. The basso part may be performed by theorbo, archlute, harpsichord with the bass-viol or bassoon. This edition comes with one solo treble part (oboe), one continuo part (piano or harpsichord) and one basso part (bassoon or cello).