Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Tema con Variazioni (Score & Parts)-WW12

Composer: Weber, Carl Maria von

Publisher: Musica Rara (Germany)

Edition: 2073


Tema con Variazioni
for wind harmony music: flute, two Eb clarinets, two Bb clarinets, two bassoons, two horns, trumpet, trombone, and double bass
by Carl Maria von Weber (1786-1826)- German composer

Edited by Hermann Dechant. This work is parts of the collection of wind music preserved in the Library of Prince Lowenstein-Wertheim-Freudenberg in Wertheim Castle. The 23 year old Weber became friendly with the hereditary Prince Carl Ludwig, who was a great lover of wind music. The work begins with several introductory chords; then follows the statement of the theme (Weber's own) and six variations. The form of the variations follows the virtuoso piano variations of the time, the harmonic pattern remaining unchanged. The third variation for brass instruments is unusual, and represents one of the few original movements for brass from that period. The sixth variation has a distinctly final character, with a moving restatement of the theme at the end.