Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Quartet in C Major, op. 73, #1 (score & parts) - BSN/VLN/VLA/CEL

Composer: Devienne, François

Publisher: Musica Rara (Germany)

Edition: 1706


Quartet in C Major, op. 73, #1
for bassoon and string trio: violin, viola, and cello
by Francois Devienne (1759-1803) - French composer and professor of flute at the Paris Conservatoire
I. Allegro Spiritoso
II. Adagio cantabile
III. Rondo- Allegro moderato

Devienne was an unusually prolific composer, especially for wind instruments. His numerous concertos and sonatas for wind soloists did much to popularize wind instrument performance in Paris. The Trois Quatuor Pour Basson, Violin, Alto, et Basse, Op 73, published by Erard (Paris) in 1798, was dedicated to Devienne's friend, Garnier of Lyon. This may have been Francois Joseph Garnier (1755-1825), a noted French oboist and flautist, also a composer of solo and wind chamber music. These quartets are somewhat superior to most of those contemporaneous works written for a wind instrument and strings. Although the bassoon part is a brilliant one, each of the string voices enjoys a high degree of independence. 

Edited by Himie Voxman. This edition comes with printed solo parts, and an excellent hand-written score.