Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sonata in F Major, op. 24, #3 - BSN/PN (Basso Continuo)

Composer: Devienne, François

Publisher: Musica Rara (Germany)

Edition: 1710


Sonata in F Major, op. 24, #3
for bassoon and piano (basso continuo)
by Francois Devienne (1759-1803) - French composer and professor of flute at the Paris Conservatoire
I. Allegro
II. Largo
III. Rondeau
Devienne was much sought after as a teacher, virtuoso flautist and bassoonist, and as a composer of chamber music. His contemporaries praised the graceful, charming, melodic ingenuity of his compositions and their elegant construction. The present sonata is the third of "Six Sonates pour un basson avec accompagnement de basse, ouvre 24", which were Sieber in Paris. 
Edited by Klaus Hubmann. This edition comes with a solo part for bassoon, and minimally realized keyboard continuo, as well as a separate basso part, playable on any bass clef instrument such as cello or string bass. The deliberately simple and unpretentious realization of the unfigured bass is to be taken as the suggestion of the editor, and stylistic changes may be made by the continuo-player.