Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Wind Quintet #2 (score & parts) - WW5

Composer: Jacob, Gordon

Publisher: Musica Rara (Germany)

Edition: 1769


Wind Quintet #2
for woodwind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon
by Gordon Jacob (1895-1984) - English composer
I. Prelude
II. Ostinato
III. Sarabande
IV. Scherzetto
V. Finale

When I wrote my first wind quintet in about 1930, the state of music in Britain was very different from what it is today. One important change that has taken place in the last half-century or so is the tremendous interest in, and cultivation of, wind-instrument playing that is now such a marked feature of school, college, and university musical life. Both boys and girls of quite tender age find they can manage even some of the larger instruments and "concert bands" on the American model are becoming of common occurrence throughout Britain. 
Wind instruments are not so difficult to master as strings or piano and a degree of proficiency can be attained comparatively quickly, though to play any instrument really well much hard work and regular practice are needed, of course. 
The Wind Quintet presents a fascinating challenge to a composer because of the highly individual tone colors and idiosyncrasies of the instruments. Adequate breathing spaces have to be considered too also the fact that the ear tires more quickly than it does in listening to string quartets and quintets. Thus, in the present work, which plays for about thirteen minutes, there are five short movements contrasted in style. Chamber music should aim at giving pleasure to players and listeners alike, and I hope that this little work will give enjoyment to both professional and amateur performers. 
--Gordon Jacob

Duration: 13:00