Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto in d minor (Voxman/Hervig)-OB/PN

Composer: Marcello

Publisher: Musica Rara (Germany)

Edition: 1891a


The Marcello Oboe Concerto is arguably the most recognized and performed work for the instrument. This beautiful three movement concerto is accessible to younger oboists as well as professionals. This piece is frequently performed in the key of c minor, or in the key of d minor. TrevCo-Varner Music offers the work in both keys, both for oboe and piano, or oboe and orchestra.

When selecting an edition of this work, check the second movement's ornamentation carefully. Many editions provide the ornamentation by Richard Lauschmann, others use the ornamentation by J.S. Bach (based off of his edition of the piece for harpsichord, BWV 974), and some offer no written out ornamentation at all.

This particular edition in d minor for oboe and piano has printed both the original (non-ornamented) part, with the J.S. Bach ornamentations printed above in movement two. In other movements, it includes ossia ornamentation suggestions by Bach, as selected by Voxman.

Edited by Himie Voxman, Keyboard part by Richard Hervig.

The editors have included interesting historical and editorial notes in this edition. To order the full orchestra score and set of part, please click on the following link: