Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Duo Sonata in e minor - OB/PN

Composer: Widerkehr, Jacques Christian Michel

Publisher: Musica Rara (Germany)

Edition: 2150


Duo Sonata in e minor
for oboe (or violin) and piano
by Jacques Christian Michel Widerkehr (1759-1823) - Alsatian composer
I. Allegro
II. Menuetto & Trio
III. Adagio sans lenteur
IV. Allegro
Edited by James Brown. Widerkehr was born in Strasbourg in 1759, and moved to Paris in 1783. At first a cellist, his name appears as a bassoonist in the orchestra of the Theatre Comique in 1790, and then as a trombonist in 1797. He wrote a number of pieces for wind instruments, as well as 12-15 symphonies. The Duo Sonata was published in Paris in 1817, and was the first of a set of three.