Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Quintet in F Major Op 53 #1-FL/OB/CL/BSN/PN

Composer: Danzi, Franz

Publisher: Musica Rara (Germany)

Edition: 1563


Quintet in F Major Op 53 #1
for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, and piano
by Franz Danzi (1763-1826)- German composer, cellist, and conductor
I. Allegro
II. Andante
III. Polacca
Edited by Georg Meerwein. Franz Danzi was one of a family of musicians who were in the service of the Mannheim Elector Karl Theodore, and when he was 15, he was already playing the world-famous Mannheim orchestra. In his quintets for piano and wind instruments, Danzi- anticipating the Romantics- uses wind instruments with a conscious appraisal of their characteristic tone colors. He introduces into the piano part brilliant passages typical of late Beethoven, although always preserving the purity of classical form.