Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sextet #1 in Eb Major (Score & Parts)-2CL/2HN/2BSN

Composer: Castil-Blaze, Francois Henri Joseph

Publisher: Musica Rara (Germany)

Edition: 1280


Sextet #1 in Eb Major
for two clarinets, two horns, and two bassoons
by Francois Henri Joseph Castil-Blaze (1784-1857)- French musicologist, music critic, composer, and music editor
I. Allegro
II. Scherzo- Risoluto
III. Adagio
IV. Bolero- Allegro brilliante
Edited by Roger Hellyer. The clarinets are in Bb, the horns are in Eb. This is a very late work in its genre, probably being published in 1832. In spite of this, the music basically keeps to classical conventions: the horn parts, for example, are still limited to what was possible on a natural horn which even so leaves much scope for florid writing. There are two dance movements, the second and fourth. The sonata form of the first movement is curtailed by a development section employing first subject material which then leads directly to the second subject via a bridge passage similar to that in the exposition.