Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sextet in C Major - OB/VLN/CEL/2HN/PN

Composer: Bach, J.C.

Publisher: Musica Rara (Germany)

Edition: 1152


Sextet in C Major
for oboe, violin, cello, two horns, and piano (or harpsichord)
by Johann Christian Bach (1735-1782 )- German composer, eighteenth child of Johann Sebastian Bach, and the youngest of his eleven sons, also known as the "London Bach"
I. Allegro
II. Larghetto
III. Rondo Allegro
Edited by Stanley Sadie, 1968. This work is likely a product of JC Bach's mature years in London, although its history and background are obscure. It is closely related to the quintets of JC Bach's Opus 11, and in the use of obligato keyboard to those published as Opus 22. It may be performed as a quartet for oboe, violin, cello, and keyboard, in which form it is complete in all musical essentials, though the horn parts substantially enrich the texture in the outer movements.