We are at the Glickman-Popkin Bassoon Camp until 6/7. All orders will be filled after that date.

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Quintet in d minor, op. 41 - OB/CL/HN/BSN/PN

Composer: Danzi, Franz

Publisher: Musica Rara (Germany)

Edition: 2106


Quintet in d minor, op. 41
for oboe, clarinet, horn, bassoon, and piano
by Franz Danzi (1763-1826) - German composer, cellist, and conductor
I. Larghetto- Allegro
II. Andante sostenuto
III. Allegretto

Edited by Kurt Janetzky. Danzi was one of a family of musicians who were in the service of the Mannheim Elector Karl Theodore, and when he was 15, he was already playing the world-famous Mannheim orchestra. In his quintets for piano and wind instruments, Danzi- anticipating the Romantics- uses wind instruments with a conscious appraisal of their characteristic tone colors. He introduces into the piano part brilliant passages typical of late Beethoven, although always preserving the purity of classical form.