Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Mixed Signals - OB/PN

Composer: Morris, Alyssa

Publisher: TrevCo

Edition: 71925


Mixed Signal
for oboe and piano
by Alyssa Morris (b. 1984) - American composer 

Mixed Signals is intended to be a high-speed musical joy ride for oboe and piano. The piano begins with three distinctly loud and recurring “beeps” of a figurative car horn, followed by whizzing lines in the oboe. Listen for twists and turns, sirens, speeding, abrupt stops, and moments of cruise control. Throughout the mysterious middle section, the oboist searches the radio signals, channel surfing along the way. The joyride concludes in a flurry of frenetic energy, with a race to the finish line.

Many thanks to Glenn Harman and Christopher Nilo, commissioners of Mixed Signals for oboe and piano (2021).

For more information, please visit the composer's website at: