Wishing you all the best for 2023!

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Three Consequences for Four Players-OB/HN/CEL/PN

Composer: Moricz, Michael

Publisher: TrevCo

Edition: 2871


Three Consequences for Four Players
for oboe, horn, cello, and piano
by Michael Moricz (b. 1959)- American composer
I. Allegro deciso
II. Calmly, Gravely
III. Allegro Giocoso

Composed in 2011 on commission from Cynthia Koledo DeAlmeida. The composer notes that the works' title has two aspects. tThe first he calls, "Intellectual or formal", indicating that some thematic material occurs in each of the three movements though treated differently in style and attitude, a circumstance he compares to people sharing an experience together in childhood but processing it differently as they recall it later in life. The title's "spiritual" dimension arose from the thrill and honor he had when writing a piece for friends and colleagues with whom he had worked for many years. 

The opening movement is bustling and closely conversational in its outer sections but becomes more thoughtful with the long, intertwined melodic lines of the cello, oboe, and horns in its central passage. The melancholy and wistfulness that play subtly against each other in most of the second movement find an expressive foil in an episode of more animated and assertive music at the center. The buoyant mood of the opening movement returns int he finale and builds to the work's exhilarating close.