Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Two Serenades-OB/BSN/PN

Composer: Blunt, Marcus

Publisher: Modus Music (England)

Edition: MM28


Two Serenades for oboe, bassoon, and piano

by Marcus Blunt

These Two Serenades were both inspired by holidays- the first being in August 1983, with my mother, on the beautiful Gower coast in South Wales.

The second, by contrast, originated on a 'working holiday' in October 1984; two colleagues and I went to Venice to set up a choir and brass ensemble trip for the following summer, and the Grand Canal on a misty morning provided the necessary inspiration. he chordal second theme is taken from my Venice Suite for brass ensemble, which was commissioned for a similar trip undertaken the previous year. 

-Marcus Blunt

Duration: 5:00