We are open and shipping orders during this unusual time. Stay safe. Practice!

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto for Contrabassoon-CBSN/CL/HN/PN

Composer: Dorff, Daniel

Publisher: Presser

Edition: 114-41818


Concerto for Contrabassoon
for contrabassoon, clarinet, horn and piano
by Daniel Dorff (b. 1956)- American composer
I. Molto espressivo
II. Moderato non troppo
III. Allegro non troppo
Commissioned by the Concerto Soloists Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia for contrabassoonist Norman Spielberg with generous support from the Presser Foundation. 
Duration: 12:00

This piece is originally for solo contrabassoon with orchestra. The orchestration was clarinet, F Horn, and strings. This quartet version leaves the two orchestral wind parts exactly as in the original chamber orchestra version, and the piano part for the quartet version is a reduction of the string parts. 

The original orchestration featured an interplay between the supporting clarinet, horn, and strings, which Dorff felt was lost in his first piano reduction of the Concerto. To restore that aspect of the piece, he has fashioned this chamber ensemble version, which uses the piano in lieu of strings only. Dorff explains, "The result yields a chamber work that allows the contrabassoonist an opportunity to perform the work on formal and informal concert series, enjoys the interaction of an ensemble, is musically complete, and has a practical piano part."

The full orchestra parts are available on rental from the publisher. 

A full piano reduction is also available by clicking on the following link: http://www.trevcomusic.com/products/mmb-146001-dorff-concerto-for-contrabsn-cbsn-pn