Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Braintree Quintet (Score & Parts)-WW5

Composer: Walker, Gwyneth

Publisher: Lauren Keiser Music Publications

Edition: 105003


Braintree Quintet
for woodwind quintet
by Gwyneth Walker (b. 1947)- American composer and music educator
I. Nearer, My God, to Thee
II. What A Friend
III. Bring Them In
IV. God Be With You
V. Abide With Me
Duration: 25:00 (without singing), 35:00 (with singing)
Commissioned by the Braintree Historical Society. The Braintree Quintet is a contemporary presentation of rraditional hymns found in the hymnals of the Community First Baptist Church of Braintree, Vermont. The five movements of the quintet explore the old hymns with energy and affection. 
The music can be played in concert version, as written. or, as was done at the premiere performance, the audience may sing each hymn before the winds play their instrumental interpretation. A small bell will be required for performance.