Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Three Melodies (score & parts) - SOPRANO/BSN/PN

Composer: Collection

Publisher: Accolade (Germany)

Edition: 57215


Three Melodies
for soprano, bassoon, and piano
Edited by Marc Vallon
  1. L'invitation au voyage by Emmanuel Chabrier (1841-1894)
  2. Absence by Georges Bizet (1838-1875)
  3. La Lettre by Jules Massenet (1842-1912)
Of these three pieces, only Chabrier's L'Invitation au voyage is originally scored for voice, bassoon, and piano. It inspired me to expand the repertoire for this interesting and unusual ensemble by arranging two other French melodies of the same period and style, creating a bassoon voice from the original piano part. These three melodies form a beautiful and singular set that can be performed in any order. 
This edition comes with a solo bassoon part, and one piano score. There is no separate vocal part, and the singer is expected to read from the piano score.