Click image above to zoom

Tapas (score & parts) - SSX/CL/BSN

Composer: Mellits, Marc

Publisher: Dacia Music (Mark Mellits)

Edition: 71174


for soprano sax, clarinet, and bassoon
by Marc Mellits (b. 1966) - American composer

“Tapas” is in eight short movements all working together to a large extent like a baroque suite. The individual lines fit closely together much like the pieces of a puzzle, each instrument relying on each other to fill in the spaces. My task was to create a work that allowed for short “tastes” of different musical ideas that still worked together creating a larger whole. The music itself should speak directly, creating a sound world unique to itself. Tapas was commissioned by “Musique en Roue Libre” and is dedicated to the French cellist Fabrice Bihan. The original version, which this edition is based on, is for String Trio was premiered in August 2007 in Hendecourt-les-Cagnicourt, during a two-week festival of the music of Mellits and Brahms.