Click image above to zoom

Phoenix (score & parts) - WW5

Composer: Mellits, Marc

Publisher: Dacia Music (Mark Mellits)

Edition: 59754


for woodwind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon
by Marc Mellits (b. 1966) - American composer

Commissioned by the Chamber Music Conference and Composer's Forum of the East, Inc. 201. This commission is supported in part by the Vermont Council and the National Endowment for the Arts. 
Duration: 5:00

Phoenix, for woodwind quintet, is music that continuing gets reborn into a new work. A simple harmonic exchange in the opening is immediately infected with a short motive. As the harmonic sequence gets developed, the seed grows and also develops until it has created a new sound world, based on the previous one. This happens yet again, as the music continues to reinvent itself throughout the work.