Check out our "Female Composers" & "Composers of Color" collections, located under "catalog", "browse", "special collections"

Click image above to zoom

Nostalgica, op. 60 (score & parts) - BSN/STG4

Composer: Aguila, Miguel del

Publisher: Miguel del Aguila

Edition: 63487 60


Nostalgica, op. 60
for bassoon and string quartet
by Miguel del Aguila (b. 1957) - Uruguayan composer
I. Nostalgica
II. Long Ago
III. Finale
Written in 1998, and revised in 2016, Nostálgica was commissioned by bassoonist Barrick Stees who premiered it 1998 at the International Double Reed Convention in Arizona. "I wanted to write a piece in which the bassoon would be the "solo singer" of the ensemble. Soon after I started writing this work, the tone qualities of the bassoon started determining the thematic material and even the form of the piece. Even though the bassoon is the solo singer here, the strings have a technically demanding part which includes extreme registers and the extensive use harmonics. 
1. Nostálgica is quiet and lyrical and it sets the mood for the entire piece establishing the bassoon as the main singing voice. The music is inspired by the Brazilian Chôro.
2. Long Ago is a calm, almost pastoral middle movement. The bassoon plays carefree arabesques often in pentatonic mode and accompanied by shimmering string harmonics and the relax beat of violin pizzicati.
3. Finale concludes the piece with a lively Latin dance. The bassoon provides here the beat with its fast, often percussive notes.