Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Octet 1986 (Score & Parts)-WW4+STG4

Composer: Antoniou, Theodore

Publisher: Margun (Gunther Schuller)

Edition: MP1072


Octet (1986)
for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, two violins, viola, and cello
by Theodore Antoniou (b. 1935)- Greek composer and conductor

Octet for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, and string quartet was composed in 1986 for Ensemble 13 in Karlsruhe, Germany, and premiered on December 4th that same year at the Goethe Institute in Athens, Greece. The Octet's brief introduction leads to a theme statement, and a series of variations. Not only is the theme- a dance-like melody in 10/8, obviously of Greek provenance-varied, appearing in numerous motivic guises and moods, but so are other elements such as rhythm and timbre. Highly virtuosic in character, the work also explores several new instrumental/coloristic techniques. 

Duration: 14:00

11/27/2017- This title is permanently out of print. Once we have sold out remaining copies, it will no longer be available.