From December 20th through January 5th, TrevCo-Varner Music will be on shortened hours for the Holidays. Orders will continue to be processed and shipped out normally, but it may take an extra day or two to answer emails and return phone calls. Thank you for your patience, and Merry Christmas!

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Oboe Suite H.390-OB/PN

Composer: Sowerby, Leo

Publisher: Sowerby Foundation

Edition: 390


Oboe Suite H. 390
for oboe and piano
by Leo Sowerby (1895-1968)- American composer and church musician
I. Whimsey
II. Chorale
III. Rondo
When Sowerby moved to Washington in 1962, he was inspired by the ideal of apprenticeship training for aspiring church musicians. The founding of a school based on that ideal however, involved not just teaching, but recruiting, public relations, fund-raising, and a plethora of other details for which the composer had little background or experience. Time for composing could easily have been non-existent, but for Sowerby's self-discipline. The oboe plays a major role in only two larger works coming from that first year in a new environment. First there was A Triptych of Diversions for organ, oboe, three strings, and percussion. Then, stealing three days from a cramped schedule, the Suite for oboe and piano was produced.