Click image above to zoom

Jacobean Salute Op 34 (Parts Only)-WW5/STG4/KB

Composer: Waterhouse, Graham

Publisher: Robert Lienau (Germany)

Edition: RL40841


Jacobean Salute Op 34
for woodwind quintet (flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon), string quartet (two violins, viola, cello) and string bass
by Graham Waterhouse (b. 1962)- English composer and cellist

Jacobean Salute could be interpreted as a miniature symphony. Originally, a considerable part of the thematic material was intended for Scottish bagpipes which is why the B flat major bass pipes are still audible in certain parts. The glissandi of the strings, for instance, are meant to convey how the pipes are being blown through. The introductory motif is based on a lament from the 17th century. "Lady Doyle’s Salute“ whose melancholic mood penetrates the complete piece dates from the reign of James VI, King of Scotland (who would later become James I of England). The Scottish aspect of the composition is further emphasized and intensified by passages which resemble a Jig and a Reel (old Scottish dances).

This title is the part set only. To order the score, please click on the following link: