Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sonate - OB/PN

Composer: Dutilleux, Henri

Publisher: Leduc (France)

Edition: 4351


Sonate (1947)
for oboe and piano
by Henri Dutilleux (1916-2013) - French composer
I. Aria-grave
II. Scherzo-vif
III. Final-Assez allant

Written in 1947 as part of the four exam pieces for the Paris Conservatoire, this  is one of the composer's earlier works. This work was part of a number of compositions that were later disowned by the composer who considered them as being not mature enough compared to his later work, even though they were played and enjoyed regularly all over the world. This duet integrates a variety of contrapuntal procedures, which were highly appreciated by the composer. Composed of three movements, the first one begins with an austere canon while the latter two comprise more texture.