The United States Postal Service has just announced rate changes that will go into effect on January 27th, 2019. Shipping and Handling Prices have gone up, especially for international orders and for express mail. Please see the shipping and handling policies page for more details.

Click image above to zoom

Oboe Concerto (Score & Parts)-OB/BAND

Composer: Higdon, Jennifer

Publisher: Lawdon Press (Jennifer Higdon)

Edition: 001B


Oboe Concerto
for oboe and wind ensemble
by Jennifer Higdon (b. 1962)- American composer

I have always thought the sound of the oboe to be one of the most elegant sounds in the palette of the wind family. When the opportunity came to write a concerto for this wonderful instrument, I jumped at it. As the oboe’s tone has always enchanted me, I decided that I wanted to veer from the normal style of concerto writing, where virtuosity is the primary element on display, and feature the rich tone of this double-reed instrument. To that end, this work has long sections (including the opening) that showcase its melodic gift, which alternate with 2 faster scherzi, giving the instrument’s technical speed a chance to shine. The original version, for oboe and orchestra, was commissioned by the Minnesota Commissioning Club.

--Jennifer Higdon

The piano reduction is available here. 

Duration: 18:00