Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

The Long & Short of It (score & parts) - WW5

Composer: Lansky, Paul

Publisher: Carl Fischer

Edition: 59059


The Long & Short of It (2015)
for woodwind quintet
by Paul Lansky (b. 1944)- American composer
1. Prelude
2. Braided Counterpoint
3. Interlude No. I (Bassoon)
4. The Joy of Bb minor
5. Interlude No. II (Oboe)
6. Long Shot
7. Interlude No. III (Horn)
8. LaDiDaDiDaDa DiDaDaDiDa DiDa
9. Postlude (Clarinet)

Composed by Paul Lanksy, The Long and Short of It for Wind Quintet was inspired by the third movement of Mozart’s Serenade for Winds, K. 361. Lanksy was particularly drawn to Mozart’s accompaniment, which he refers to as, “The ultimate expression of breath in music. Nothing else quite captures the same sense of wind instruments inhaling and exhaling as only winds can.” Five of the movements in Lansky’s composition use Mozart’s rhythm accompanying a solo, and the remaining four movements focus on musical concepts such as rhythm, harmony, and counterpoint. This piece was commissioned by The Library of Congress’ Carolyn Royall Just Fund and The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center.
Duration: 25:00