From December 20th through January 5th, TrevCo-Varner Music will be on shortened hours for the Holidays. Orders will continue to be processed and shipped out normally, but it may take an extra day or two to answer emails and return phone calls. Thank you for your patience, and Merry Christmas!

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger


Composer: Kouguell, Arkadie

Publisher: Prairie Dawg Press (Bruce Gbur)

Edition: 366


Divertimento for Bassoon and Piano

by Arkadie Kouguell (1896-1985)

The Divertimento for Bassoon and Piano is subtitled on the solo part, "Four Pieces for Bassoon and Piano". Unfortunately, the holograph does not bear a date, but the use of English for the title and subtitle would indicate that the piece was written sometime after the composer's move to the United States from Russia in 1952. All four pieces display melodic inventiveness and freshness of harmonic language that contribute to the charm of the work as a whole. The last movement exhibits a wry humor as the composer juxtaposes the rhythmic stresses of compound and simple meters. Edited by Bruce Gbur.