Check out our "Female Composers" & "Composers of Color" collections, located under "catalog", "browse", "special collections"

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Serpent Music Op 31-OB/PN

Composer: Kibbe, Michael

Publisher: Michael Kibbe (composer)

Edition: MK7


Serpent Music Op 31
for oboe and piano
by Michael Kibbe (b. 1945)- American composer
I. Python
II. Cobra
III. Anaconda
IV. Green Grass Snake
V. Asp
From the composer: 
This work must certainly be unique in the chamber music repertoire; a programmatic piece about snakes! Each movement is a musical impression inspired by one of these intriguing creatures. The work was premiered at a concerto in Los Angeles in 1977, with the composer performing the oboe. A group of interpretive dances writhed, snakelike, across the floor around the two instrumentalists. No one was bitten!
For more information, please visit the composer website:
Duration: 12:00