Click image above to zoom

Une Cite Moderne - OB/PN

Composer: Joyce, Brooke

Publisher: Toy Dog Music

Edition: 69216


Une Cite Moderne
for oboe and piano
by Brooke Joyce - American composer

I. Beffroi (Hommage à Vierne)
II. École Primaire (Hommage à Debussy)
III. Halles (Hommage à Poulenc)
IV. Bureau de Postes (Hommage à Honegger)
V. Magasin de Nouveautes (Hommage à Satie)
VI. Église (Hommage à Messiaen)
VII. Cinéma (Hommage à Ravel)

Commissioned and premiered by the Waterloo-Cedar Falls Symphony, Jason Weinberger, conductor, April 2014. 

Dedicated to Heather Armstrong

Une Cité Moderne is a set of architectural drawings by Robert Mallet-Stevens, published in 1921. These 32 ink drawings with splashes of color depict an imaginary city of the future, with examples of public buildings, restaurants, homes and schools. Although none of these designs were built, they represent a playful and beautiful vision of modernity. Heather Armstrong and the composer chose seven of these drawings as starting points for this concerto, imagining how seven French composers, contemporaries of Mallet-Stevens, might have responded to his work. So, if the resulting music sounds steeped in 1920's Paris, it is intentional. One might imagine a citizen of this modern city awakened by the sounds of the beffroi (bell tower), dropping children at the école primaire (school), doing some shopping at the halles (market), doing an errand at the bureau de poste (post office), stopping to buy a gift at the magasin de nouveautes (novelty shop), attending a late afternoon service at the église (church), and ending the day at the cinéma.

Duration: 20:00

Please see for more information.