From June 27th through July 22nd, I will performing at the Bellingham Music Festival, north of Seattle. During this time, it may take a few extra days to respond to emails and phone calls. Orders will continue to be processed in the normal timeframe, however. Thank you for your patience, Eric Varner

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto for Bassoon-BSN/PN

Composer: Fogg, Eric

Publisher: Emerson Editions (England)

Edition: 122


Concerto for Bassoon

by Eric Fogg (1903-1939)

I. Allegro Vivace
II. Grave e molto sostenuto
III. Con spirito

Piano reduction by Robert Groves

Duration: 19:20

Considered by the composer to be his finest work, this concerto was dedicated to Archie Camden, who wrote: This concerto exploits the full range of the instrument, its ability for quick passage-work and its fine sound in soft melody. Sometimes jolly and a trifle mischievous, but in the lovely slow movement it can get full and warm-toned over the bass ostinato. The orchestral accompaniment is fairly light, with much use of the percussion- particularly in the last movement in an effective and witty duet with the bassoon.