Check out our "Female Composers" & "Composers of Color" collections, located under "catalog", "browse", "special collections"

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Five Scenes from "Tremonisha" (score & parts) - WW5

Composer: Joplin, Scott

Publisher: International Music Co

Edition: 36589


Five Scenes from "Treemonisha"
for woodwind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon
by Scott Joplin (1867-1917)- African-American composer, "King of Ragtime"
1. We're Goin' Around
2. Prelude
3. Aunt Dinah Has Blowed De Horn
4. Superstition
5. A Real Slow Drag
Edited and Arranged by Graham Bastable. The opera upon which this transcription is based, Treemonisha, was begun by Joplin in the first decade of the twentieth century. He published the piano-vocal score in 1911, but was unable to have it produced professionally. Treemonisha languished, untouched, until the ragtime revival of the late 1970s, when it was given a full performance by the Houston Grand Opera in 1975 with arrangements and orchestrations by Gunther Schuller.