Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Blues & Rhythm Changes (score & parts) - ASAX/BSN or CL/BSN

Composer: Hutchinson, Rob

Publisher: ALRY Publications

Edition: 57628


Blues & Rhythm Changes
for alto saxophone (or clarinet) and bassoon
by Rob Hutchinson - American composer


Blues and Rhythm Changes is a fascinating composition for a rather unusual combination of instruments. The first movement, Blues, follows blues form and is based on the interval of a fourth. The second movement, Rhythm Changes, follows the chord progression from George Gershwin’s “I Got Rhythm” and is based on the interval of a third. Both pieces use swing rhythm, but swing is less pronounced at faster tempos. Therefore, the second movement should be considerably less 'swung' than the first movement. The accent marks in parentheses mean a breath accent. My goal was to get as few notes as possible in order to project an ultra legato style.

A definite crowd-pleaser and a challenge for the players as well! Alternate parts are included for Clarinet and Baritone Saxophone in order to increase the flexibility of this great piece!

Duration: 7 minutes