Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Sinfonia - 4BSN

Composer: Hoover, Katherine

Publisher: Presser

Edition: 53803


for 4 bassoons
by Katherine Hoover (1937-2018)- American composer
I. Introduction
II. Funeral March
III. Allegro vivace

For the New York Bassoon Quartet. 

“ The idea of writing a bassoon quartet, when first mentioned, fascinated me; the instrument is an impressively flexible one with a wide range. Besides, I knew the members of the New York Bassoon Quartet, and the temptation to write for such fine players was irresistible.

The central section of the Sinfonia, the Funeral March, was inspired by the form of a scene from Stiffelio, an obscure opera by Verdi. It features a repeating bass motif, with increasing layers and densities of sound. The introduction is a bit freer and more experimental in nature. The last movement is an up-tempo fugue, with elements of jazz and some rather silly and difficult grace-note figures. ” 

- K. Hoover.