Click image above to zoom

Qwindtet, op.37 - WW5

Composer: Hoover, Katherine

Publisher: Presser

Edition: 70344


Qwindtet, op. 37
for woodwind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon
by Katherine Hoover (1937-2018) - American composer

Composed 1985

Duration 16'

I Prelude
II Lullaby
III Interlude
IV Dirge
V Finale 


Qwindtet was written for the Hudson Valley Wind Quintet, on commission from Peter Alexander and the State University of New York at New Paltz.  

“ The piece follows an unusual plan. Movements I (Prelude), III (Interlude), and V (Finale) are all drawn from the same lively material, in dance-like 7/8 patterns. The second movement, a Lullaby, is gently lyrical. The fourth, a Dirge, is much more serious, even austere at times. The Finale, though based on the original 7/8 motives, retains some of this darker mood, then gradually resumes the bright character of the Prelude. ” 

- K. Hoover.