Wishing you great reeds for the holidays!

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sonata - OB/PN

Composer: Hoover, Katherine

Publisher: Presser

Edition: 69297


for Oboe and Piano
by Katherine Hoover (b. 1937-2018) - American composer and flautist
I. Andante- Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Allegro molto
From the composer:
Throughout my composing career I have avoided the name "Sonata". Discussion of the term in Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musicians runs twenty-two pages. In this case, however, it seems appropriate, for it gives a sense of substantiality, and a link to the past. THe first movement introduction contains a short quote from Samuel Barber's haunting and beautiful "Cave of the Heart", a piece I played often on tour with the Martha Graham Dance Company in the 1960s. This quote becomes a motive that generates much of the rather lyrical first movement. 
The second movement in much more intense, and grows in a freer fashion from the opening ostinato to a large climax. It ends in a somewhat improvisatory, pastoral mood, which I have always found particularly appealing on the oboe. The third movement hasn't a single serious measure, and even pokes a little fun at some of what comes before. 
The Sonata for oboe and piano was commissioned by the Vinland Duo, Virginia Brewer, oboe, and Mary Ann Brown, piano. its first performance was given in Weill Recital Hall, Carnegie Hall, on April 24th, 1991.