Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto #2, op. 15 - BSN/PN

Composer: Bruns, Victor

Publisher: Hofmeister (Germany)

Edition: 48772


Concerto #2, op. 15
for bassoon and piano
by Victor Bruns (1904-1996) - German bassoonist and composer
I. Moderato- Allegro non troppo, ma animato
II. Andante tranquillo
III. Allegro animato e leggiero
Dedicated to Professor Willi Fugmann. Bruns' style, which has its roots in the Russian traditions with which he grew up, is musical through and through; the musical ideas teem with cheerful invention- flowering cantilena motifs dominate, together with a pregnant rhythmic inventiveness that is never obscure. The concerto displays especial charm, the demanding virtuosic solo parts of which- above all, of course, those for bassoon- are always well-conceived for their instrument and never rely on a superficial straining for effect. 
Orchestral material is on hire from the publisher.