We are at the Glickman-Popkin Bassoon Camp until 6/7. All orders will be filled after that date.

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto Op 28-OB/PN

Composer: Bruns, Victor

Publisher: Hofmeister (Germany)

Edition: 7136


Concerto Op 28 (1952)
for oboe and piano
by Victor Bruns (1904-1996)- German bassoonist and composer
I. Allegro grazioso
II. Andante cantabile
III. Allegro animato
Bruns' style, which has its roots in the Russian traditions with which he grew up, is musical through and through; the musical ideas teem with cheerful invention- flowering cantilena motifs dominate, together with a pregnant rhythmic inventiveness that is never obscure. The concerto displays especial charm, the demanding virtuosic solo parts of which are always well-conceived for their instrument and never rely on a superficial straining for effect.
The orchestral material is on hire from the publisher.