Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto, op. 98 - CBSN/PN

Composer: Bruns, Victor

Publisher: Hofmeister (Germany)

Edition: 61552


Concerto, op. 98
for contrabassoon and piano
by Victor Bruns (1904-1996) - German composer and bassoonist
I. Allegro non troppo
II. Andante tranquillo
III. Allegro leggiero
Dedicated to Hank Skolnik.

Bruns' style, which has its roots in the Russian traditions with which he grew up, is musical through and through; the musical ideas teem with cheerful invention- flowering cantilena motifs dominate, together with a pregnant rhythmic inventiveness that is never obscure. The concerto displays especial charm, the demanding virtuosic solo parts of which are always well-conceived for their instrument and never rely on a superficial straining for effect.
Orchestra parts areĀ on hire from the publisher.