Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sonatine, op. 96 - BSN/PN

Composer: Bruns, Victor

Publisher: Hofmeister (Germany)

Edition: 61549


Sonatine Op 96
for bassoon and piano
by Victor Bruns (1904-1996) -  German bassoonist and composer
I. Allegro sostenuto
II. Andante tranquillo
III. Allegro animato

In the late 1980s, my friend, the keen amateur bassoonist Richard Moore ordered a tenor bassoon from Guntram Wolf, an instrument maker in Kronach, Bavaria- the first such instrument to have been made in recent times. At the same time, he commissioned a Trio for tenor bassoon, bassoon, and contrabassoon from Victor Bruns, whose compositions for bassoon he much admired. 
When in early 1992 Richard moore and I visited Victor Bruns to take delivery of the Trio, the composer surprised us with two works. As well as the Trio Op 97, he had written a Sonatina Op 96 for tenor bassoon and piano as a preliminary study. The Sonatina he had dedicated to Richard Moore, the Trio to me. In order to facilitate the wider use of both works, he added an alternative part for bassoon (notated a fourth lower) for each. This particular edition comes with a bassoon part only. No tenor bassoon part is included. 
   -- William Waterhouse